Follow That Trail!

Don’t get me wrong, I adore Discovery Channel’s Shark Week. I have ever since I can remember. In fact, you might even say that ten-year-old me who wanted to be a shark-studying marine biologist marked it as the highlight of her year. In the past couple of years, watching Shark Week as an adult who is aware of the state of the oceans and shark populations, I must confess I’m nothing short of disappointed in the lack of education in the shows that are aired.

They say all press is good press but does the same go for sharks? I’m not so sure…

With press like this, who can expect the public to be on the side of sharks? Titles include “Sharkzilla,” “Air Jaws Apocalypse,” and “Shark Bite Summer,” and I can’t but wonder what the actual goal is here. Understandably ratings are important but with shark populations on a rapid…

View original post 117 more words

Leave a Reply

